NEWS: Scissor Sisters Tease Fans With Behind The Scenes Video

After their brand new single ‘Only The Horses’ made its debut online last week, setting twitter on fire & trending worldwide with excited tweets from fans including One Direction heartthrob Harry Styles, New York’s finest, Scissor Sisters return in style. They release the new single ‘Only The Horses’ on May 13th through Polydor.

The premiere of the official ‘Only The Horses’ video is imminent but to tease fans today Scissor Sisters have uploaded a behind the scenes documentary about the recording process.

The euphoric single, written by Scissor Sisters and co-produced by Calvin Harris is a typically exuberant way for the band to herald their return.

Singer and songwriter Jake Shears considers this a quintessential party anthem. “I wrote it for one of my best friends,” he explains.”We had so many amazing adventures this past year travelling the world. It’s about being friends with someone you’re so happy to know.”

‘Only The Horses’is taken from Scissor Sisters fourth album‘ Magic Hour’ which is released on May 28th. “It’s a sweet joyful mélange of beat-driven future-pop,”says Jake Shears of the album.“It style-hops all over the place unabashedly.”

For ‘Magic Hour,’ the band worked with a diverse list of collaborators, such as Pharrell Williams, Diplo and Azealia Banks.

Since their debut release in 2004 Scissor Sisters have sold over 4.5 million albums in the UK. The albums ‘Scissor Sisters’ and ‘Ta-Dah’ both hit #1 whilst ‘Night Work’ reached #2.

Scissor Sisters will be back on stage in the UK this May for shows at Shepherds Bush Empire on 16th and 17th May. The band will preview songs from the new album as well tracks from their previous albums.

NEWS: Scissor Sisters Announce Night Work Arena Tour

Following their recent sold out UK tour and show-stopping Glastonbury performance, Scissor Sisters announce an arena tour for December 2010.

The announcement of the live dates follow the success of recent album Night Work which has been declared a triumphant return by the critics and the pubic alike. From The Times to Heat to Pitchfork the critics praised Night Work whilst the public showed their enthusiasm by sending the album to the the top end of the charts.

Jake Shears, Ana Matronic, Babydaddy and Del Marquis are renowned for their live shows. They have always wowed crowds in the UK from their early days playing small clubs to headlining arenas in 2007. The band made their return to the live stage last month when they played a series of live dates ahead of the release of their album. The Brixton show led The Guardian to say they “were a band built to last.”

As well as performing songs from their new album Scissor Sisters are also expected to perform tracks from their self-titled debut album, which has sold over 2.5 million copies, and 2006’s Ta-Dah album which sold 1.4 million copies in the UK alone.

The full list of dates are below

3 Dec               Birmingham LG Arena
6 Dec               Cardiff Arena
8 Dec               Glasgow SECC
10 Dec             Newcastle Arena
11 Dec             Manchester MEN Arena
12 Dec             Brighton Centre
14 Dec             Nottingham Arena
15 Dec             London 02 Arena

Tickets £30 and £32.50 in London and onsale Friday 9th July at 10amAvailable at /
24 hr cc hotline 0844 8110051

ALBUM REVIEW: Kylie “Aphrodite”

File:Kylie Minogue - Aphrodite.jpgRecord Label: Parlophone
Release Date: 5th July 2010

Everyone’s favourite Australian pop princess is back with her eleventh studio album “Aphrodite”.

The album sees Kylie go back to what she does best “dancey pop music”, and the result is twelve catchy dance floor fillers, which are pure Kylie.

Executive producer Stuart Price is the mastermind behind the musical development of “Aphrodite” and was heavily involved in the track listing, leaving a number of recorded ballads out in favour of the twelve up tempo numbers.

The single “All The Lovers” is pure electro pop delight, and proves that Kylie is not scared of the likes of Lady Gaga, who has been wearing her crown while she has been away.

“Too Much” co-written by Jake Shears (Scissor Sisters) and Calvin Harris, has instant hit written all over it. Catchy, synthetic, and  fun, with a hooky melody and beat, it is a dance floor classic.

Other more surprising contributors to her latest release include Nerina Pallot “Aphrodite”, and Tim Rice-Oxley “Everything is Beautiful”. I say surprising only because they seem unlikely electro pop contributors, but the title track especially is one of the gems on the album.

Kylie has come so far since the “I Should Be So Lucky” days. She is an artist who can continually re-invent herself, and slot perfectly into the musical niche of the current times. Die-hard fans will not be disappointed by her latest release, and my only criticism is the lack of surprises, even if it was just in the form of a hidden track of one of the left out ballads. But Kylie doing what Kylie does best is still a treat to behold, and this release is definitely another must have for your definitive Kylie collection!

Rating: 4/5
Reviewer: Kim Harrell

  • Latest Issue

    ISSUE 6: OUT NOW Email if you want it direct to your inbox for free!!

  • Blog Archive

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to us and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 41 other followers

  • Follow TheKajeBlog on Twitter
  • Follow The Kaje Sessions