The Kaje talks Olympics to Loick Essien

Loick Essien first burst into the UK charts alongside his good pal Chipmunk on the track “Beast”, and has since worked with everyone from the N Dubz to Bashy and Tanya Lacey. With his debut album currently awaiting release, Essien is enjoying the opportunity to gain exposure for his Usher-esque vocal abilities as part of the travelling line up for the Olympic Relay concerts in association with Coca Cola. With Essien relishing every moment in the spotlight, The Kaje jumped at the chance to have a chat with the “How We Roll” vocalist ahead of his Birmingham performance…

How have you got involved with the Olympics?

Do you know what? It was put forward to me and it was something that I could not turn down. I was surprised that I was even one of the artists to be looked at as a part of it, as it is such a big thing. I am just really proud to be part of it.

What is your take on the Olympics? Is it something you have always been interested in?

The Olympics is something that comes every four years, so it is a big deal every time it comes  anyway. It is such a big deal as everyone is at home watching it. I always try to catch the running, to try catch Usain Bolt as he is always breaking records. Just to be a part of it, especially the first time the Olympics is bringing music to it, is amazing.

What is the connection between musicians and Olympians?

I think music brings people together and sports does the same, so it is only right to combine the two. I think they should do it with football too as it also brings people together. Music is something everyone can relate to. Everyone likes music, so it is abit of a no brainer.

If you had to take part in an Olympic event, which would it be?

I’d like to run and do the torch. I would love to be torchbearer, it is a big deal. When I held it, it felt like I had the power.

The Gold Medal is the ultimate accolade for the Olympian, what is your personal Gold Medal?

Mainly for more people to hear my music, for people to hear my album. I want people to make sure they get the mixtape on the 26th July, the Hyde Park day. It is just a collection of songs for people to hear me.

Interview and Photograph by Jeremy Williams

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Latest Issue

    ISSUE 6: OUT NOW Email thekaje@thekaje.com if you want it direct to your inbox for free!!

  • Blog Archive


  • Enter your email address to subscribe to us and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 40 other followers




  • Follow TheKajeBlog on Twitter
  • Follow The Kaje Sessions