The Kaje talks nightlife to CAAN

Camden’s CAAN first found success as part of the synth-pop trio Ou Est Le Swimming Pool, only to suffer the loss of his close friend and bandmate Mark Haddon in 2010. Having kept his head low for the past couple of years, CAAN is back and this time taking centre stage as a solo artist, with a gritty, urban driven sound that is making heads turn and tearing his way into people’s hearts once again. With The Kaje more than a little enchanted by his brutally honest lyrical wisdom, we jumped at the chance to hang out on a rooftop and find out more…

Establishing yourself as a solo act must be an interesting position post-Ou Est Le Swimming Pool. With such a different sound, how have you found the Ou Est Le Swimming Pool fans reactions?

 It has been mixed, but mostly good. What I do is quite different from what we did, but at the same time there are lots of similarities. A lot of the fans have been great and really supportive, others have said they don’t like it, but then not everybody will like everything you do. You have to take the good with the bad and I just love making music so I will continue to do so.

Can you tell us a little bit more about your latest single, “Into The Night”?

I just wanted to take it all a little bit more old school, channel in to some of the tracks and sounds that had really influenced me. It is not just really about going for a night out and losing it all, it is just about losing yourself in yourself. Being able to just completely let go.

Your videos, both for “Into The Night” and last single “Every Little Thing” show the importance of the visual to you. Do you think it is about exploring every aspect of the creative?

I think it is important to work with other creative people and really push an idea to the max. I love to see ideas realised and I love to tell stories. Music videos are more than just a visual feast, though it is important that the visual works.

What are your hopes as a solo artist?

I want to be able to explore as many sounds as I can. I don’t want restrictions. I like to listen to so many things, that I want those influences to be heard in my music. It is not just about success, it is about creativity. I am currently working on my album and I can’t wait to get that finished and out there.

http://www.iamcaan.com

Interview and Photographs by Jeremy Williams

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Latest Issue

    ISSUE 6: OUT NOW Email thekaje@thekaje.com if you want it direct to your inbox for free!!

  • Blog Archive


  • Enter your email address to subscribe to us and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 40 other followers




  • Follow TheKajeBlog on Twitter
  • Follow The Kaje Sessions