THEATRE REVIEW: Christmas with the Rat Pack – Live from Las Vegas, The New Alexandra Theatre, 28.11.11

I have to admit that in some ways I was quite apprehensive about seeing this show – firstly I didn’t think I knew very many Rat Pack songs and secondly I thought it would be quite cheesy. While I admit I do quite enjoy cheese, there is always that slightly bigger risk factor…too much really is too much. Finally the promise to be the “coolest party in town” seemed quite astonishing.

However, I was more than just a little pleasantly surprised – I had a wonderful night. “Christmas with the Rat Pack – Live from Las Vegas” is simply a  marvellous, fun-filled experience. As soon as the show opens, you are welcomed into their world – a world in which I felt immediately at home. I honestly felt as if I were at the coolest party in town, being warmly welcomed by some long-lost friends who were more than happy to see me.

Opening night was abuzz, with an audience hungry for an era of glitz and glamour. The set was far from a disappointment. With an air of luxury, the vintage inspired set was both sparkly bright and colour. From the set alone it was apparent the night would play out without even a hint of sepia drifting in.

Performance wise, the evening was flawless. Every character was a winner. Each performance was spot on – from mannerism to styling, or humour to performance technique. Under the supervision of musical director Dominic Barlow, the evening’s proceedings are led by the magical Frank Sinatra (Stephen Triffitt), who is joined by an all-star cast which includes Sammy Davies Jr (Giles Terea), Dean Martin (Mark Adams), The Burelli Sisters (Grace Holdstock, Frankie Jenna and Sophia Forough) and the Rat Pack Big Band. The combined performances constantly wow the audience, gaining momentum with every number performed with such passion and joy.

While the music may have stolen my heart, I have to take a moment to mention the footwear worn by both Sinatra and Davies Jr – which were without doubt the shiniest shoes ever seen. As they glimmered under the spotlight, and the various sparkly costumes shone, I found myself, a normally dishevelled and disordered creature wishing upon a star – why should I not be  a glamour puss decked in silk and duchess satin with perfect hair and elbow length gloves?

“Christmas with the Rat Pack – Live from Las Vegas” is exactly what it says on the tin – a feel good and sing a long show that will you make you laugh out loud and command your participation. Congratulations to all involved – it’s truly is the “coolest party in town”.

Reviewer: Eleni Kypridemos
Ratin: 4/5

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Latest Issue

    ISSUE 6: OUT NOW Email thekaje@thekaje.com if you want it direct to your inbox for free!!

  • Blog Archive


  • Enter your email address to subscribe to us and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 40 other followers




  • Follow TheKajeBlog on Twitter
  • Follow The Kaje Sessions