ALBUM REVIEW: Alvin & The Chipmunks “Chipwrecked”

Record Label: Atlantic Records
Release Date: 14.11.2011

You may be asking yourself why I have volunteered to review the new release by cartoon pop superstars Alvin & The Chipmunks given that I am 25 year old male with no children or younger siblings. Nostalgia is the simple reason. Alvin, Simon and Theodore were without question my favourite cartoon during my younger years. In 2007 the first film of the squeaky songsters was released and through sheer curiosity I ventured to the local cinema and fell instantly in love.

I was still a student back then and my behaviour was easily written off.  However, when in 2009 I ventured to the cinema to see the return of the Chipettes to the fold, my then girlfriend questioned my moves. I laughed it off and went alone, as I shall be to the impending third installment (no one knows I will be going but you – so keep it hush hush – ok?)

So, when we were asked if anyone fancied having a listen to the album ahead of the film, I screamed yes on the inside and shyly accepted the proposal. I do not own either of the earlier soundtracks, however, after listening to the latest collection – which includes unique takes on everything from Gaga’s “Bad Romance” (even more addictive than the original) to Willow Smith’s “Whip My Hair” (I hated the original so reworking was written off before I pressed play) – I may well be adding others to my collection.

Though The Chipettes outshine The Chipmunks – skip straight to their take on Rihanna’s “SOS” – the whole record is so stupidly uplifting that even I have had to question my attachment to The Chipmunks. However those issues can wait as right now I just want to push play and bounce up and down on my bed while singing along to “Party Rock Anthem”!

Rating: 4/5
Reviewer: David Hunter

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Latest Issue

    ISSUE 6: OUT NOW Email thekaje@thekaje.com if you want it direct to your inbox for free!!

  • Blog Archive


  • Enter your email address to subscribe to us and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 40 other followers




  • Follow TheKajeBlog on Twitter
  • Follow The Kaje Sessions