The Kaje talks collecting CDs with Josie Newton

When trying to find a new up and coming hot talent my friends said I should check out Josie Newton, a singer-songwriter and guitarist from Plymouth who has been performing for about three years as a solo act and with a band.

Can you introduce yourself?

Hi, I’m Josie Newton. I’m a singer-songwriter and guitarist from Plymouth in Devon. I’ve been playing guitar since I was 12 and singing before I can remember!

Tell us about who inspires you?

I’m inspired by a number of things when it comes to my music. From the music I listen to, to the people I’ve been lucky to have in my life to TV shows and books I’ve read. To write songs, I love telling stories, so anything that has real depth about it, inspires me to get writing.

What are you doing musically at the moment?

At the moment I’m an Apprentice Music Leader at Plymouth Music zone and I’m also working on getting things ready for this year!

What is your favourite experience so far?

My favourite moment so far would definitely be my EP Release show that would include the months leading up to it and the evening itself. It was the most nervous I had been and the most involved in a show I had ever been. The pressure felt immense but nothing beat the feeling of performing on stage, I felt incredibly lucky to be doing that.

What’s next for you?

Well I’m not really sure what’s next for me. I hoping to write more and perform around the country more and do what I love. It’s a nerve-wrecking time but it’s exciting, nobody knows!

If you could collaborate with anyone who would it be?

Aah, this so hard! I’d love to work with Jason Wade from Lifehouse. I just adore his lyrics, his voice and the sound that Lifehouse have. I think having time to work with him would be incredible!

When watching you play, I got a real sense of how passionate you are about your music, how do you feel about it when you’re performing?

I am very passionate about what I do and when I’m on stage I like to be lost in the moment. I like to think of myself as a story teller and I want to try to portray the lyrics to the audience. I don’t believe in being on stage and going through the motions, if your heart is not in it then you shouldn’t be performing!

Tell us some trivia about yourself?

I still love to collect CDs. It may be a trend that’s dying out but there’s something about downloading a whole album that doesn’t work for me!

You seem to dedicate a lot of your time with the Sing Up project, working primary school children to write songs, what’s that like?

I’ve just finished my project with Sing Up actually and it was amazing! I had the privilege of working with 6 Primary Schools and write a song for each. They did a performance at Falmouth University and were fantastic. It was probably one of the most challenging things I’ve had to do as a songwriter but one of the most inspiring.

You perform both as a solo artist and in a band, can you tell us a bit more about them?

Well, I equally love both! Haha! I had the opportunity more than a year ago to put a band together for the recording of the EP. They were so talented and lovely to work I wanted to put it on stage! I like the contrast between just me and my guitar and the full band line up. Putting other instruments onto my songs allows me to explore different sides to my music, which is very exciting!

Download Josie’s music now from iTunes

Eleni Kypridemos

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Latest Issue

    ISSUE 6: OUT NOW Email thekaje@thekaje.com if you want it direct to your inbox for free!!

  • Blog Archive


  • Enter your email address to subscribe to us and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 40 other followers




  • Follow TheKajeBlog on Twitter
  • Follow The Kaje Sessions