FILM REVIEW: Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows (Part 1)

Director: David Yates

I am very surprised at myself. This blog was not around at the release of the sixth Harry Potter film, if it was I would have given it one star. That being said it meant that this film did not need to do much to achieve more than “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince”. Surprisingly it does more than just surpass the sixth film.

Harry, Ron and Hermione set out to locate the remaining Horcruxes so that they can kill Lord Voldemort. The book is three hundred pages of field jumping. The film manages to turn these three hundred pages into an interesting and engaging couple of hours of film. I believe the ending even manages to make some people cry, although I would not go that far in my praise.

As with all the Harry Potter films, the set, costumes and music are phenomenal. The three leads, well apart from the fact that it looks like Rupert Grint is now on steroids, still cannot act however hard they try. But I keep telling myself it is ok. If I forever bemoan the fact that they cannot act I will never be able to enjoy the films for what they are, pure escapist fantasy.

I suppose for me the biggest compliment that I can give this film is that it justified making the last book into two films. Yes, I am sure that money was really the deciding factor but aesthetically it convinced me, two is better. Well it would be if they did not make me wait six months for the next one!

Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Rachel Jacobs

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Latest Issue

    ISSUE 6: OUT NOW Email thekaje@thekaje.com if you want it direct to your inbox for free!!

  • Blog Archive


  • Enter your email address to subscribe to us and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 40 other followers




  • Follow TheKajeBlog on Twitter
  • Follow The Kaje Sessions